I didn't feel like writing about AI today.

So here are some productivity tips instead.

The fastest way to build a lucrative side hustle?

Ghostwriting.

✅ You don’t need any startup capital.
✅ You don’t need a big social audience.
✅ And you don’t need decades of writing experience.

To become a Premium Ghostwriter you only need 5 simple (but oddly specific) skills.

And this FREE email course will give you everything you need to start ghostwriting today.

Hey freelance friend!

I was going to write about AI’s impact on freelancer writers today, but I am just not feeling it. I’ve heard some interesting insights that I’ll share another day, but the sun is shining, there is a blessedly cool breeze on this August afternoon, and I’m relishing the last weeks of summer. AI has no place here today.

So, I thought instead I’d share some productivity tips when you’re feeling blocked in your writing or would rather be doing something else with your time, despite those deadlines piling up. And if it feels like I’m talking to myself, it’s because I’m talking to myself.

How to focus on your writing when you’d rather be [fill in the blank]

  1. Switch up your music: When my mind begins to wander, I switch to some new focus music or instrumental soundtrack.

  2. Change locations: Sit in a different spot, head to your porch, or go to a coffee shop. A new perspective can make a huge difference.

  3. See if you can reprioritize your to-do list: If your current project isn’t totally time sensitive, see if you can do something that takes less brain power.

  4. Go for a walk: A little fresh air can rejuvenate your writing prowess.

  5. Meditate: There are tons of 5-10 minutes meditations on YouTube to help you focus.

  6. Give yourself timed breaks: It’s ok to take breaks. But set a timer to avoid accidentally spending an hour on Instagram.

  7. Set micro alarms while writing: When I need help focusing, I’ll estimate how long a very small task will take me, like a 150-word section of an article. I’ll set a timer just for that task, which helps me stay on track.

Any other tips? (Asking for a friend…)

Good luck with Back to School!

For all my fellow parents out there, good luck as kiddos head back to school. We start our homeschool year at the beginning of September, and I’m already preparing for the shift in schedules. I’ll appreciate the extra structure we have in the school year, but it’s definitely a different energy level.

To prepare, my husband and I are working on our family calendar and pre-determining who is responsible for what kids’ activities, who is working vs. teaching when, and what nights we will need an easy freezer meal vs. when we will have time to cook. We’ll likely create a day-of-the-week meal plan because this is the time of year when the fewer decisions we have to make, the more we can focus on the stuff we truly love to spend time on.

Freelancing offers flexibility, but I have found that having structure around certain things makes it easier (and more comfortable) to be spontaneous at other times.

Happy freelancing,

Lauren