Feel-good networking

When you need a quick win

In partnership with

Do it all in one place

  • Centralized business management

  • Fast and safe invoicing

  • Automated workflows

Happy Tuesday, freelance friend!

With all the job boards, round ups, and calls for freelancers out there, it’s easy to always be reaching for the new and shiny client.

But in reality, tapping into your existing network often yields much better results. For me, some methods are more comfortable than others, and I imagine that differs based on personality types.

That’s why I love talking to other freelancers to get inspiration on how to network better. And then I like to push myself out of my comfort zone - because if I’m not growing, then my business probably isn’t either.

How to Network with Existing Clients

Here are a few ways I tap into my network that are fairly low key:

  • Ask for next month’s expected workload when you submit work

  • Follow up with lapsed clients every 2-3 months

  • Follow up with prospects that never turned into paid work

Those three strategies are easy emails to send regularly. But what about…also asking your clients and recent past clients for referrals?

This is a strategy I’m excited to test out. Sara Coleman wrote a blog post earlier in the year with FOUR ways to ask for referrals. And honestly, as I reread her post, it’s not any more difficult than the three strategies I listed above.

So if you’re hoping to drum up some new work or upgrade a few clients before the end of the year, start putting out feelers within your network instead of ONLY focusing on new relationships. People are back from vacation and ready to get down to business. So spend some time following up AND asking for referrals - and let me know how it goes!

Lauren

News for humans, by humans.

  • Today's news.

  • Edited to be unbiased as humanly possible.

  • Every morning, we triple-check headlines, stories, and sources for bias.

  • All by hand with no algorithms.