✍️ Managing multiple clients isn't that hard

And your future self will thank you

Hey freelance friend!

After freelancing for more than 10 years, I’ve learned the importance of client diversification the hard way. One or two anchor clients drop at the same time and all of a sudden there’s a rush to make the month’s income goal! The solution, of course, is spreading out your income across multiple clients (ok, and having a savings buffer 🤣).

The hard part is juggling all of those clients, including deadlines, invoices, style guides, and other processes. Here are three ways I stay on top of my clients and deadlines.

Thanks to everyone who pitched a personal story for the Write with Lauren blog! I’m reviewing submissions and will reach out over the next week.

Track tasks daily

I use my monthly project tracker to stay on top of deadlines, but I also use a paper planner to map out how I’ll spend my time each day, including edits or administrative tasks that don’t make it on my monthly income calendar.

It seems tedious, but I have to reference both documents daily or I run the risk of missing something. If I assume I know what’s on my to-do list this week without double or triple checking, I may miss something.

When I’m really swamped, I forward assignments to my virtual assistant to add to my project tracker for me. It’s one less thing I have to worry about during times I’m feeling overwhelmed.

Schedule work in the best way for you

Create your daily work flow in a way that works best for you by experimenting with how you’re most productive. I know many writers who like to batch work. They’ll outline a few pieces one day, then write out the articles over the next couple of days.

Most of the time, I prefer to work on one project from start to finish. That way I have just one style or sourcing guideline to reference without getting confused or distracted. When I finish a draft, I step away and come back later to edit.

There’s no right or wrong way to do it and some days may require different work styles. If you’re sick or tired but still need to get some work done, make it an admin day. Then you can catch up on more intensive work when you’re feeling better.

Switch up your mindset between clients

When I shift from one article or project to the next in one sitting, I usually do a couple of things to stay focused. First, I’ll take a physical break of some kind (hello, snack time).

I often also do a five-minute meditation in order to refocus before I start writing again. Another switch I make is to change the music I’m listening to. I can only write to instrumental music and I find that it helps to go to a different genre when I’m moving on to another project.

Anything you’d add?

And here’s to multiple dream clients for all of us in 2024!

Lauren

When you’re ready, here are 2 ways I can help you with your freelance business:

  1. Organize your business with my income tracker or pitch tracker.

  2. Read The Fully Booked Freelance Writer to follow my exact process for keeping a full schedule (whatever that looks like for you).