Show up like a pro

Client onboarding strategies for quick project starts

In partnership with

Optimize your taxes year-round with AI

Keeper uses cutting edge AI to make taxes easier for freelancers, business-owners, and self-employed people.

Link your financial accounts and Keeper will scan through your business expenses to find deductions you may have missed + they’ll notify you of every new deduction throughout the year.

At tax time, just upload photos of your tax forms and Keeper will prep your return for you and have a tax pro review and sign it!

Join the tens of thousands of saving an $1,249 per year on their taxes.

Best face forward / a mad dash behind the scenes 💪

If you’re like me, your freelance biz is likely a one-person operation. I get some VA support, but I 100% take care of all client-facing interactions. Consequently, I’ve been trying to reduce repetitive tasks and create systems that make my life easier.

Nonetheless, my goal of automation and systems is a work in progress - which means I sometimes have to scramble when unique client requests come in.

Case in point: Recently, a new corporate retainer client wanted me to provide a contract, statement of work, and (eventually) a content brief template.

There would have been a time in my career when I would have balked and replied nervously that the client normally provides these documents. But instead, I decided to keep calm and quickly pull everything together. And on the client side, it looked like a seamless operation. Here’s how I did it.

I based the statement of work on items we talked about over our initial calls - I’ve actually done these before and it’s pretty straightforward.

For the contract, I purchased a $30 template from The Writer’s Co-op, which is super freelancer-friendly and easy to understand. Even better, it looked and sounded super professional and my client’s legal team made just a few changes.

And that’s the point - even if it feels like a scramble behind-the-scenes, it’s so important to spend the extra hour to look like a pro in front of our clients.

🗃️ Templatizing these processes

I’m also better prepared for similar requests that pop up in the future. Over the long run, I’m creating a bank of templates to use the next time a lead asks for a contract or other formal document.

I’m also starting to keep canned responses on hand to cut and paste into common requests. For instance, I’ve recently had a surge of resume clients after a company I wrote for got acquired by a larger firm…which unfortunately meant a lot of layoffs. After the first few resume referrals came in from my marketing contact, I realized it was a huge time saver to simply draft a “Resume Inquiry Response” that explains my process and pricing step-by-step.

I also plan on replicating this system of templates for prospecting emails as well.

Do you recommend any systems or processes for client management ? I’d love to hear them and share in a future newsletter, so hit reply and share your best practices!

Happy freelancing,

Lauren

P.S. Have you met my friends? 👋

Check out these other amazing newsletters for freelancers, solopreneurs, and marketing pros!

The SubheadA newsletter about copywriting, marketing & media, and some of the women who make it great. Delivered every other Sunday.
Solopreneur DoorwayThe only newsletter that gives you fresh ideas and fun reading to grow your clients and income.
All Things Freelance WritingNew freelance writing jobs every week!